Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Jekill and Hyde

First Build for a 95 (Advice)

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2007, 06:23 PM
jnickel
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Build for a 95 (Advice)

Hi all,

I'm going to tare my bike apart and do a 95er. This is my first time so I’m asking a couple of wrench buddies to help. I want to do it mostly with Harley parts, due to me being a corporate employee getting a nice discount on HD stuff. I was thinking between two kits. My ultimate goal is to have a reliable, durable, upgraded bike.

First Harley Kit:
1550 High Output

High flow Air/exhaust (Already Have)
Big bore Cylinders (95)
High Compression Forged Pistons
SE-257 Cam Kit
Quick-Install Adjustable Pushrods

Second Kit:
1550 High Torque (HTCC)

High flow Air/exhaust (Already Have)
HTCC EFI Intake Manifold Kit
Big bore Cylinders (95)
HTCC Cylinder Head Kit
HTCC Pistons
SE-251 Cam Kit

A lot of people are steering me away from the HTTC, any insight?

Also running higher compression would it shorting my engine’s life, or cause any problems? (I think both of these kits are 10.5 compression)

I heard a lot about cam bearing problems, should I consider a gear drive instead of a chain drive cam?

What other things should I add to strengthen the engine’s durability?

Thanks
2005 Night Train EFI – Stage one

Old 04-09-2007, 06:41 PM
dawg
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 2,969 Likes on 1,718 Posts
Default RE: First Build for a 95 (Advice)

You can see my build in my signature. I went with SE flattops and did some headwork. I would recommend either going with a gear drive cam or at least doing the chain conversion kit. Sorry I cannot comment on the HTCC as I don't know enough about them

Old 04-09-2007, 08:57 PM
zoomie67
Tourer