General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

DYI, a rant, a vent, and a question for the old timers

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2016, 03:03 PM
Anton.N
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DYI, a rant, a vent, and a question for the old timers

I know I'll probably catch some flak for this but here goes. I'm a vet who's dealing with some mental issues and a few other things but the VA therapy seems to be taking care of me pretty well, a few nights ago my therapist and I discussed a few things that make me happy - one of them being my bike. I'm not that old (only 26) but I have riden quite a few miles and I love all motorcycles but HD has sown thing special something that warms the soul, a feeling that I needed so much. So the shrink suggested that I learn how to work on my own Harley as he had seen great confidence boosting and calming effects from this. So I bought some tools a few craftsmen torque wrenches and decided that changing the plugs was the best place to start. I followed the service manual and torqued the plugs to 16ft pounds, yet the plugs really didn't feel that tight, I put anti seize on the threads and dielectric on the terminals, and left it alone, bike rides different but better (I think my SB just didn't like SE plugs plus they were gapped at .030) - here's where my paronoya set in, I started reading more and more about stripping heads and now I can't get the though of that I ruined my bike out of my head and it's killing me. So with out trying to sound like a little b@tch, how did you guys learn to work, do service, pull apart engines and have fun while doing it without second guessing your selves - more and more I see bikes that run so much better from the hands of owner than from moco, I feel like if I touch my bike with a wrench the wrong way it will break and fall apart, or if I try to do any work some castrofic damage will happen. Did anyone