General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Potential owner

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2013, 06:31 PM
Noods4
Stage I
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Potential owner

Hello, I'm new to this forum. I have a question regarding the service needed to keep your Harley's in riding shape. I've heard that Harley's require more yearly maintenance than Japanese bikes. I believe this to be false, but I have a riding buddy who bought an '05 Ultra Classic a few years ago and it costs him $500-$1000 every spring to fix things that have broke. Another riding buddy says its not the Harley it's that my first buddy can't keep his paws from tinkering with his bike!

I've been riding a Honda VTX1300 since 2007 and I like the idea of only changing the oil and tires to keep it in riding shape. I need to upgrade to a touring bike.....okay, I WANT to upgrade to a touring bike. I had a chance to ride a 2011 Ultra Classic Limited last year for about 50 miles and Holy crap that is a nice ride! I'm torn between a used Ultra Classic or a used Goldwing.

So what's the real deal? Do '09 and newer Ultra Classic's require higher levels of maintenance?

Last edited by IzzoQuazzo; 04-08-2013 at 06:54 PM.
Old 04-08-2013, 06:33 PM
HDJaco
Road Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I think you should go for the Goldwing.

Old 04-08-2013, 06:50 PM
dribble
Grand HDF Member
Received 457 Likes on 248 Posts

I bought my HD Heritage new in 06 and in 20K miles. I've had to tighten the compensator nut and replace the rear brake pads. Nothing has ever broken or failed on it.

I also have an 11 ultra classic with 8K miles but I've not owned it that long. The dealer I got it from said the only thing the've done to it was a brake switch recall.

The rear shifter arm on the UC is loose and I can't get it tight. Since it's under warranty it's going to the dealer for that.

Old 04-08-2013, 07:25 PM
Jonesee
Outstanding HDF Member