General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need some advice

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2014, 09:21 AM
riseagainst82
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some advice

My wife and I just found out we are going to be having our first child this spring. This news has caused me to start thinking about everything I do. I am new to motorcycle riding and purchased my first bike a year ago this fall. My wife is fine with me owning a bike and fine with me continuing to ride after the kid is born. My issue is when I laid out the money for the bike I had no real responsibility or concerns. Now we are looking at possibly moving as well. I'm considering putting the bike up for sale and maybe purchasing something used and smaller like an Iron. This way I can still go on fun rides around town and the rural back roads but won't feel bad if the bike sits from time to time.

My current bike is a 2013 Dyna, with a stage 1. If I do sell I would probably remove the parts and sell it as a stock bike. The used bike market doesn't seem to have much on it in NJ right now, so I'm not sure what I could even ask. I actually previously listed the bike but got no real offers, so that makes me hesitant to try again. I keep going back and forth between selling.

Old 08-31-2014, 09:27 AM
KUB
Extreme HDF Member
Received 127 Likes on 93 Posts

Having a family and the responsibility is a big deal and can be a bit scary at first. Sounds like you are a responsible person to start this conversation ! Sit down with pencil and paper and go over your needs, budget and your priorities ! Don't run scared and start unloading stuff, sit down and use some sense and don't loose your butt on stuff it isn't the end of your youth or having fun ! Its just beginning !!

Last edited by KUB; 08-31-2014 at 09:30 AM.
Old 08-31-2014, 09:32 AM
2PawsRiver
Tourer
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts