Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Tuners Simplified

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2015, 12:58 PM
SnoRider
Road Warrior
Received 254 Likes on 145 Posts
Default Tuners Simplified

I have read pages and pages related to ECM management options. I have little experience in ECM so this thread is meant for us less tech advanced. To clear up some questions and help string some information together for us non-professionals and less experienced I though people could benefit from knowing or having a concise answer to the following. Experts please help us out with the following:

Need a list of make / model of:
1. Piggy back systems
2. Piggy back system with auto tune
3. Piggy back system with auto tune that has instant “real time” correction (does not just record data to be mapped for later update but automatically makes changes during ride)
4. Flash tuners
5. Flash Tuners with Auto Tune
6. Flash tuners with auto tune that has instant “real time” correction

What is open loop and closed loop?

I have seen several people in forums suggest they would. NOT put a certain type of tuner on a HD model later than a 2008 model. What type of tuner and why?

O2 Sensors. Some tuners use them some do not. Some recommend plugging bungs, some recommend maintaining factory installed sensors. I could definitely use some more info on 02 sensor stuff.

Throttle delay and tuner impact on throttle delay.

Timing and tuner impact on timing. Correct that both piggy back and flash affect timing?

What is your take on HD stock headers with no CAT vs HD stock headers with CAT removed, vs aftermarket headers (the reason I ask is in considering buying 2009 RK vs a later year model. 2009 the RK did not have CAT and in 2010 they do).

Who uses head pipes without slip ons and what are they?