Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Classic > Ironhead
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Ironhead A place to talk about Ironheads.

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 05-31-2009, 09:01 AM
98glider's Avatar
98glider 98glider is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: nj
Posts: 1,136
Default wiring blinkers and horn

I was looking at my manual for the electrical and was wondering if i can put the blinkers and horn on the same fuse. the bike now only has 2 she is a bobber i want to add the blinkers and horn, the blinkers are going to be led Also can I take it off the ign. switch for power thanks
__________________
"Miles are kept by how many times you fill up"
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-31-2009, 12:01 PM
piniongear's Avatar
piniongear piniongear is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,023
Default

The power to the horn and turn signals both come from the accessory circuit breaker, so yes in a word you can.
Just be sure to connect the signal wires and the turn signal switches between the circuit breaker and the horn switch. Otherwise, you will have to blow the horn to use the signals. But that may not be a bad idea either, come to think of it. It will get their attention better.......... pg
__________________

Rolling down the highway on two wheels since 1957...
Owner Red/White 1971 XLCH & 2003 FXDL-Silver over Black

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-31-2009, 05:16 PM
IronMick's Avatar
IronMick IronMick is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London, ON Canada
Posts: 2,501
Default

Only two circuit breakers? One should be 30 amps, and it should be between the +ve battery post and the ignition switch. I know of at least one and possibly two bikes that have caught fire basically because this breaker was missing.

The other should be 15 amps, and couls run lights etc as already pointed out.
__________________
Mick
IronHead Forever!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-31-2009, 06:05 PM
piniongear's Avatar
piniongear piniongear is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,023
Default

One circuit breaker is required, not two.
The power for all the turn signals, flasher, and horn originate at the circuit breaker.
The single power wire goes straight into the flasher. Coming out of the flasher, there is another wire going to the switch for the right hand turn signal.
Off this wire, there is a splice, downstream of the flasher, that goes to the switch of the left hand flasher.
That is what is involved...... 1 flasher, 1 circuit breaker, and 2 turn signal switches. Look at a wiring diagram and that will explain it far better than I can do it......... pg
__________________

Rolling down the highway on two wheels since 1957...
Owner Red/White 1971 XLCH & 2003 FXDL-Silver over Black

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-02-2009, 10:46 PM
98glider's Avatar
98glider 98glider is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: nj
Posts: 1,136
Default

I only have 2 breakers now one for ign and one for the head lite and brake As for the amp I will have to dig into as these are those metal ones with 2 terminals on them.i was going to tap of the the ign switch and add another circuit breaker and take it from there. What size breaker do you think i shoul use to run led blinkers and the horn thanks guys this bobber has been all done over as far as I can see. I ran all new wiers in the bars for the blinkers and horn
__________________
"Miles are kept by how many times you fill up"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-03-2009, 07:22 AM
IronMick's Avatar
IronMick IronMick is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London, ON Canada
Posts: 2,501
Default

The "new" ironheads have 4 circuit breakers. A red wire runs directly from the batt+ to a 30 amp breaker. The other 3 are each 15 amps and are indirectly run off the 30. An additional wire runs direct from the bat +ve to the solenoid.

Three wires exit the 30: one goes to the B terminal on the key switch; one runs from the regulator; the third goes to the start relay.

The LIGHTS breaker is powered from the L key switch terminal, and powers all the lights.

The IGN and ACC breakers are joined together on the input side by a copper strip so they essentially act as one. I guess this is to make it easier to run the wires but i really do not know why they do this. These two are powered by the wire from the IG terminal of the key switch.

Only one wire runs from the IGN breaker - to the run/stop switch. Two orange wires run from ACC. These are always 12 volts with the key on and run whatever needs the 12.

The 30 amp breaker ensures that a short circuit at the key switch [which is easy to accomplish] does not cause the bike to catch fire while you are riding down the road.
__________________
Mick
IronHead Forever!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-04-2009, 04:06 PM
98glider's Avatar
98glider 98glider is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: nj
Posts: 1,136
Default

So do you think that I can just tap off the input of the 30 amp and add one 15 amp more for the horn and blinkers now my bike has been all redone as for the wiring that is now a bobber Thanks
__________________
"Miles are kept by how many times you fill up"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-04-2009, 06:52 PM
IronMick's Avatar
IronMick IronMick is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London, ON Canada
Posts: 2,501
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 98glider View Post
So do you think that I can just tap off the input of the 30 amp and add one 15 amp more for the horn and blinkers now my bike has been all redone as for the wiring that is now a bobber Thanks
Yes.

Note that these circuit breakers are directional - there is an input side and an output side. The factory manual describes the input side as "copper terms". So i think the other side is silver [colored].

I think you can just run a wire from the output side of the 30 to the input side of the new 15, then run the accessories from the output side of the 15.
__________________
Mick
IronHead Forever!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-05-2009, 12:07 PM
98glider's Avatar
98glider 98glider is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: nj
Posts: 1,136
Default

I have just wires comming from the bat or from the ign switch to the fuses etc. there is no copper links between the fuses
__________________
"Miles are kept by how many times you fill up"
Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 12:07 PM
 
 
 
P
Reply


Tags
blinker, blinkers, changing, circuit, connect, davidson, diagram, flasher, harley, horn, post, signal, turn, wire, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join HDForums

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Internet Brands, Inc.