Shovelhead A place to talk about Shovelheads.

anyone still run the stock primary chain oiler?

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2014, 04:43 PM
kino44
Tourer
Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts
Default anyone still run the stock primary chain oiler?

I have a 1984 FLT EVO shovel bottom end with a dry clutch and primary oiler im new to this set up, I hear good and bad things.some say isolate the primary keeps clutch debris out of oil use about 6 to 8 oz of fluid check it often others say they have ran stock primary oiler for years with no issues.I would think it cant be to bad of a design Harley used it for years.I know JAP bikes share the same primary and engine oil. would like to hear from those who still run stock setup

Old 07-09-2014, 06:55 PM
Tom84FXST
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 18,490 Likes on 5,462 Posts

I will never run one...I just tore down an 83 with less than 13k original miles...when I dissembled the primary one of the little screws that hold the plastic clip over the stator wires was missing...didn't think much of it at the time...when I dissembled the motor I found out where it went...if the primary had been separate it would have just laid in the bottom of the primary case with no problem...but it got sucked back through the motor with these results.

Old 07-10-2014, 04:57 AM
kino44
Tourer
Default primary oiler

OUCH! ok guess I will isolate it seems like most do.I just brought this bike and its in rough shape it is still hooked up to the oiler nobody isolated it.I haven't pulled the primary yet but did the top everything looks good so far.I hear I need different clutch plates and not to use the stock if I isolate it? a wet and dry type? would you know of any brands of wet dry plates I need to get?

Old 07-10-2014, 07:51 AM
V_twins
Road Captain
Received 23 Likes on 20 Posts

even with oil in the primary, clutch is dry type
I've run both systems, no issues with either