Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Should it really rattle like that?

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2016, 06:54 AM
Axis39
Road Captain
Received 55 Likes on 47 Posts
Default Should it really rattle like that?

I'm new to Sportsters. I've been riding a long time, but have always owned Big Twins. I bought my wife a 2014 48 a few months ago and really enjoy riding it... But, man I wonder if the engine is about to explode sometimes! LOL

I am not used to being over the engine, or having such a small gas tank not covering said engine... I'm also REALLY not used to stock exhaust! But, it seems like there's so much engine noise. Clackity clack, all the time. It's steady, it doesn't change, other than with engine speed.

Do Sportster have solid lifters? Don't they have fixed length push rods too? As in, nothing I should worry about adjusting....

The bike runs strong, never misses, and really, is just plain fun to ride. But, it's so noisy compared to my Softail and the Shovel I just sold, let alone my old Evo FXR.... The first Shovel I owned was so long ago, and had such short pipes... I can't remember if I ever heard that engine!

Old 06-28-2016, 07:25 AM
grbrown
Club Member
Received 2,853 Likes on 2,420 Posts

If you have a warranty and are concerned, I suggest you visit the dealer you bought it from. We can't hear that noise so readily in here! Your engine has hydraulic lifters and the valves do not normally need any routine maintenance, so shouldn't make any noise. A possibility is that the stock air filter (which is actually a muffler) has been changed and you are hearing induction noise, which can sound mechanical.

Old 06-28-2016, 07:42 AM
Kenny94945
Stellar HDF Member
Received 336 Likes on 291 Posts

Visit the dealer...that's the best advice as internet can not accurately (even in a video) the noises you describe.