Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Sportster Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by: Rush Racing Products

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-29-2012, 11:23 PM
JeepnHD's Avatar
JeepnHD JeepnHD is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 181
Default Heavy Breather

ok so as I have been reading, people are saying with just pipes with factory exhaust you will be fine without having to tune the scoot.

Question I have, I will for now just have stock pipes, soon probably will up to some rush tips or something different. But have the HD Screaming Eagle Heavy Breather. with just the heavy breather will I need a fuel pack or tune?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2012, 11:54 PM
Ragnar Danneskj÷ld Ragnar Danneskj÷ld is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 1,949
Default

One or the other, you will be fine. Both, you need a tune.
__________________

2009 883 Low w/ 1200 kit
Four theft attempts resulting in drops
One hit and run in a parking lot
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-30-2012, 11:37 AM
JeepnHD's Avatar
JeepnHD JeepnHD is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 181
Default

need a tune with heavy breather and slip ons?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-30-2012, 01:03 PM
aklim aklim is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 930
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeepnHD View Post
need a tune with heavy breather and slip ons?
Based on my AFR readings, I'd say you do need a tune.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-30-2012, 01:33 PM
Kontankerous Kontankerous is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: May 2011
Location: LaGrange, GA
Posts: 431
k0ntank3rous Charlie Sabens k0ntank3rous
Send a message via AIM to Kontankerous Send a message via Yahoo to Kontankerous
Default

it's actually just a goober pre-coded remap. A real "tune" would be them putting in on a dyno and actually, tuning it. It's very generic map that is made to "work for 99% of everybody". Works in the closed loop throttle position and you really would be perfectly fine picking up someone's used Xieds.
__________________
2010 Iron 1250 (XL1250N)
Hammer 560 cams
1200 heads
Martin Bros. Blunts
Custom stuff all over...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-30-2012, 03:53 PM
aklim aklim is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 930
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kontankerous View Post
it's actually just a goober pre-coded remap. A real "tune" would be them putting in on a dyno and actually, tuning it. It's very generic map that is made to "work for 99% of everybody". Works in the closed loop throttle position and you really would be perfectly fine picking up someone's used Xieds.
I guess I am that 1% it didn't work for. I'd be interested to know if anyone did measurements of AFR and see whether it works or not. My load showed it still ran dangerously lean at WOT. We didn't do runs at partial throttle so I will have to reload my stock tune, test and see what this one does.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-30-2012, 05:18 PM
PasadenaNightster PasadenaNightster is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 107
Default

I ran the heavy breather with no tune just fine. Then installed Screamin' Eagle slip ons and the bike ran hotter( leaner). Cured it with X14IEDs though, runs like a champ now and only for an extra 100 bucks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-30-2012, 06:14 PM
PanterA101's Avatar
PanterA101 PanterA101 is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Tx
Posts: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kontankerous View Post
it's actually just a goober pre-coded remap. A real "tune" would be them putting in on a dyno and actually, tuning it. It's very generic map that is made to "work for 99% of everybody". Works in the closed loop throttle position and you really would be perfectly fine picking up someone's used Xieds.
Where'd you get those pipes and how much? I'm in love. Do they come in chrome?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-30-2012, 06:19 PM
PanterA101's Avatar
PanterA101 PanterA101 is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Tx
Posts: 375
Default

And just to contribute IDK why you wouldn't want a tuner of some sort. More power and a cooler smoother running motor... I mean I know money comes into play I've had mine for a little over 2 months and I'm still trying to get the money but why would you not want to do this?

Go to fuelmotto and buy a power commander V. They'll set it up for your bike for a little over $300 shipped. Or get a cobrapro for $500 just install and forget about it. Change this or that and still forget about it. You can buy an extra piece for the PCV to do this too but I'm pretty sure you're over $500 now. But you could buy them at different times if you plan to make changes again one day.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-30-2012, 06:40 PM
aklim aklim is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 930
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PanterA101 View Post
And just to contribute IDK why you wouldn't want a tuner of some sort. More power and a cooler smoother running motor... I mean I know money comes into play I've had mine for a little over 2 months and I'm still trying to get the money but why would you not want to do this?

Go to fuelmotto and buy a power commander V. They'll set it up for your bike for a little over $300 shipped. Or get a cobrapro for $500 just install and forget about it. Change this or that and still forget about it. You can buy an extra piece for the PCV to do this too but I'm pretty sure you're over $500 now. But you could buy them at different times if you plan to make changes again one day.
I would think that it might be an instant gratification thing. Sucks to have to wait 6 months to a year to buy a tuner that can adjust everything there is to be adjusted. BTDT. Got burned by it too.

I'd think the PowerVision would be a good buy too. I am told you can tune it WITHOUT a dyno although if I didn't have the SEPST that the wife bought me, I'd be all over the PowerVision too but I'd still send it out for tuning simply because I want it done by a pro but you can DIY.
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 06:40 PM
 
 
 
P
Reply


Tags
breather, changing, cheap, davidson, diy, harley, heavy, intake, involved, putting, sportster, tuner, whats


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join HDForums

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 PM.


ę Internet Brands, Inc.