Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help reading wiring schematic on accessory connector

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2016, 07:09 PM
kishstl
Road Master
Received 34 Likes on 31 Posts
Default Help reading wiring schematic on accessory connector

I am adding a heated backrest from the new tourpak I just received. I am using the switched accessory connector under the seat. I have the Y harness connected to it for the heated rider and passenger seat already with an open deutsch connector that I want to use. The wires that connect to the used tail of the y connector are orange and black. Makes sense- pos and ground and work fine. However the wires from the deutsch that connect to the other tail of the harness are orange and red/y. They dont look like they would work according to the schematic, but I'm not an expert at reading those. See pics of the schematic with a close up of the accessory pic and a pic of the deutsch y harness. Which is the ground? Does that circuit even look right for an accessory? Any help would be MUCH appreciated !!!

Attached Thumbnails Help reading wiring schematic on accessory connector-harness.jpg   Help reading wiring schematic on accessory connector-harness-close-up.jpg   Help reading wiring schematic on accessory connector-20160407_183837.jpg  
Old 04-07-2016, 08:35 PM
smitty901
Seasoned HDF Member

Received 9,628 Likes on 5,180 Posts

The accessory plug has a pole that is hot all of the time and pole that is hot only when the switch is on.
Hook up a test light turn switch on test ,turn of test and you will know witch is witch.

Old 04-07-2016, 09:31 PM
skydude426
Club Member
Received 385 Likes on 221 Posts

The black is ground.

The red/yellow comes on with the brake relay.

The orange/red comes on with the ignition switch.

The orange comes on with the accessory switch on the dash.