Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Touring Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by: Fuel Moto USA

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 05-14-2011, 10:30 PM
smithbrl's Avatar
smithbrl smithbrl is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Denham Springs, La
Posts: 1,546
Default Diagnostic code: no rsp

This afternoon, just before I got home, there's a straight stretch about a mile long and I cranked it up to 80 mph. Shortly before I was going to slow down to turn on my street the engine lost power for just a second. I slowed and turned into my driveway and parked the bike. As I was maneuvering the bike around on the patio, the idle became slightly elevated and I noticed the "check engine" light was on and I had no throttle response. I shut the bike off and checked for codes. I found P1511(Throttle actuator limited power management mode) and P2135(Throttle position sensor 2 correlation error). I accidently cleared the codes. I restarted the engine and it revved up normally til I cranked it up pretty good. The engine light came back on. I remembered reading here about the "fretting" of pins on the throttle body connector so I pulled the plug and looked for something amiss. I didn't see anything so I plugged it back in. I restarted the engine and pulled the plug. The bike immediately went to limp home mode(limited throttle response). I replugged the connector and went back to the diagnostic codes. When I checked for codes under the "P" mode, it said "No rSP". Now I have normal throttle response but I want to see "none" when I pull diagnostic codes, not "No rSP." By the way, the last couple of times I had it out, it had a slight stumble at low throttle input, especially when I first started moving from a stop. I think I have a bad throttle grip sensor or the connector is "fretting". What is this "No rSP"? Thanks
__________________

My gal Calamity-'09 Ultra Classic - PV Tuner, SE AC, Jackpot Mufflers
Suspension: JRI B Rear, Intiminator Front
FCS Cooling Fans
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-14-2011, 11:39 PM
JRBass's Avatar
JRBass JRBass is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: St. Charles, Mo.
Posts: 715
Default

From the little searching I did the Norsp code comes if you try to read codes with the kill switch in off position on hadlebars. It needs to be in run position.
__________________

2010 SG Cherry Red Sunglow/Merlot Sunglow, SE Stage 1 Breather, PC-V, V&H Power Duals with V&H Twin Slash Rounds, 8" Dark Smoke Freedom Shield,WO's 575's and Blue Gauges and HK Radio Customized by Myride7 and a bunch of that shiny stuff
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2011, 11:46 PM
smithbrl's Avatar
smithbrl smithbrl is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Denham Springs, La
Posts: 1,546
Default

Thanks JRBass. The kill switch is in the "run" position. I, too, researched this problem and have found no answers. I found a bunch of people having the problem. Most of them turn the kill switch to "run" and the problem goes away. Those that have the kill switch in the "run" position and still have the "No rSP" aren't finding any answers. Cecil
__________________

My gal Calamity-'09 Ultra Classic - PV Tuner, SE AC, Jackpot Mufflers
Suspension: JRI B Rear, Intiminator Front
FCS Cooling Fans
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2011, 12:24 AM
roadgliderick's Avatar
roadgliderick roadgliderick is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,313
Default

funny u said that my check engine light came on also but i have the thunder max ecm u can read the codes the tmax vertually tells u what the problem is. well it turned out my cruise control set switch was bad took to the dealer they replaced it problem solved. but i did ask what the norsp means cuz mine reads the same with the kill switch on or off. the tech told me that thats nomal there is nothing wrong when u read that he didnt explane what it meant but he did say they all say that. thats the beauty of the tmax it tells u where your problems are and u can clear the codes yourself. dont know if the power commander has that or the TTS or any other tuner does but mine does . just my 2 cents.
__________________
2011 fltrx sedona orange here we go again. c&c solo seat,stratum collection timer cover derby cover and a/c cover,oil bud oil cooler, trueduals thunder header slip ons,alpine cda 105 head unit,alpine pdx 2150 digital amp, and type r fairing speakers. carlini eval apes 17 inches. thundermax TBW, cool sac grips, chrome harley controls, ness big sucker stage 1 with woods 555s and fuelmoto adjustable rods wheels by sinister 21 in front 18 rear.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-15-2011, 02:46 AM
Potato_Potato's Avatar
Potato_Potato Potato_Potato is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,578
Default

Quote:
What is this "No rSP"?
This is a copy / paste from my SM:

“no rsp” displayed.* Tachometer malfunction. See 2.4 SPEEDOMETER/ TACHOMETER.
* Models not equipped with a tachometer will display “no rsp.”

So unless you have a RK or your tach isn't working I'd guess it was just a glitch - clear it and see if it comes back.

As far as the fretting, I believe it occurs at the plug that plugs into the ECM, not at the TCA. Although the pins that fret go to the TCA. P2135 is one of the codes associated with it.

Here is the SB on it.
__________________


2008 StreetGlide - Stage 1, Bub 7 True Duals, SERT, Corbin Classic Solo, SE Compensator

☮☮☮☮☮☮☮

Last edited by Potato_Potato; 05-15-2011 at 03:16 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-15-2011, 04:30 PM
smithbrl's Avatar
smithbrl smithbrl is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Denham Springs, La
Posts: 1,546
Default

I pulled the connector from the TB and cleaned both sides and used dielectric grease and put it back together. I pulled the PCV and connected the ECM in stock configuration. I cranked the bike and had throttle response without the CEL coming on. I went into diagnostics and found 6 or 7 codes. I think they are related to the PCV being installed and the oxygen sensors bypasssed. I cleared the codes and reinstalled the PCV and cranked it again. Engine performed normally-full throttle response and no CEL. Took the bike for about a hundred mile ride and no problems. At this point I'm calling it fixed but I'm not totally confident yet. Maybe in a few hundred more miles. Thanks for everybody's input. Cecil
__________________

My gal Calamity-'09 Ultra Classic - PV Tuner, SE AC, Jackpot Mufflers
Suspension: JRI B Rear, Intiminator Front
FCS Cooling Fans

Last edited by smithbrl; 05-15-2011 at 04:37 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-21-2011, 05:02 PM
Taildraggerdave Taildraggerdave is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 654
Default

I had a similar problem today on an '09 Ultra with 22K on it.
Starting a group ride with 6 other bikes. Heading up into the hills and had cruise control set on. I noticed that the bike cut out a couple times and it was about 2500rpms at the time.

Then the throttle quit working altogether and the bike went to idle. I pulled over on the shoulder and the engine ran fine at idle but had no throttle except when twisted to full throttle, then the rpm's would go up to 2000 and stay there until throttle was released.

The group thought was to pull the main fuse and let it set for a minute and retry. I did that and upon restart, I had an engine light on for a bit then it went away. The bike ran well for the rest of the ride. Put 100 miles on it and no further problems.

I got home and grabbed the HD Electrical manual and reminded myself how to do a WOW test. I also got norsp on the odometer and came back to HDForums to investigate. I have no other codes on any of the modules. I, too, have a PCV on it.

Take care,
Dave
__________________
2009 Ultra Classic Electra Glide - Mine
2005 Screamin Eagle Fatboy - Also mine, now she rides it...
V-Twins, the sound of freedom.
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y41...e/DSC05614.jpg
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y41...e/DSC06266.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-23-2011, 03:31 AM
smithbrl's Avatar
smithbrl smithbrl is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Denham Springs, La
Posts: 1,546
Default

Well, I'm not calling it fixed anymore. I'm still getting the check engine light and the codes. The bike is stumbling at slow speeds. I think I'm going to ride it over to the dealer next weekend and have them take a look at it. Maybe replace those pins on the TCA connector. Thanks again for the input. Cecil
__________________

My gal Calamity-'09 Ultra Classic - PV Tuner, SE AC, Jackpot Mufflers
Suspension: JRI B Rear, Intiminator Front
FCS Cooling Fans
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-06-2011, 11:29 PM
smithbrl's Avatar
smithbrl smithbrl is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Denham Springs, La
Posts: 1,546
Default

Brought it to the dealer today. They said it's the twist grip sensor. Waiting on parts now. Will have to wait til next Monday to bring it back. Hopefully that will fix it. The diagnostic codes were P1510, P1511, P2135 and P2127.
__________________

My gal Calamity-'09 Ultra Classic - PV Tuner, SE AC, Jackpot Mufflers
Suspension: JRI B Rear, Intiminator Front
FCS Cooling Fans
Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 11:29 PM
 
 
 
P
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To: Diagnostic Trouble Codes (DTC's) DR. V-TWIN Softail Models 37 09-12-2014 12:34 PM
2008 ultra no wide open throttle ratriower Touring Models 8 08-26-2013 10:14 PM
Looking for some help troubleshooting no start uuscotty Touring Models 9 08-13-2013 01:10 AM
"no rsp" from ECM?!? BluBob Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection 2 06-29-2008 01:38 AM
Question about Diagnotic Code gilbertb11 Softail Models 2 01-28-2007 09:29 PM


Tags
09, 1511, classic, code, davidson, diagnostic, electra, glide, harley, rod, rsp, sp, throttle, thundermaz, ultra


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join HDForums

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 AM.


Internet Brands, Inc.