Tri Glide, RG3 & Freewheeler Models Freewheeler, RG3 & Tri Glide Enthusiasts. Here is your section of the forum to discuss Harley's Trikes!

The Freewheeler is tough!!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2015, 08:01 PM
lh4x4
Extreme HDF Member
Received 929 Likes on 571 Posts
Default The Freewheeler is tough!!!

I started riding in March 1956 and until today had never had an accident. Riding 30K+ per year has brought me many left turners, light/sign runners and pull outs. I had always be able to slow turn and other wise miss them. I had an attitude that they were always aiming at me and I reacted accordingly.

Today on a beautiful sunny mid thirty's day with dry roads I set out to do a big loop of about 200 miles. Twenty miles into the ride I was going through a small town on a state highway rte. 82 that makes a 90 degree turn at a T intersection to the north with the south bound lane required to stop if they are making a left turn. I was just through the turn and about staight when an ederly lady approached and turned into me broadside. I had no action to make that would have evaded. i was at 15 mph and no escape route. I saw her a few feet before impact. She was leaned forward, head tipped down and I could see her eyelids only because she was looking down at something. Text msg on a phone perhaps.

The bike took the hit dead center. Then she kept pushing for a while trying to figure out what was going on!

Of course I was wearing my Safety Yellow coat and Safety Orange pants. Which makes my wife feel good. But I have always said that it only works when someone LOOKS at you. Distracted drivers couldn't even see a light house in the dark!

The police came took minimal info. Drivers license and insurance card. No pics of the skid marks or anything. They did not give her a ticket. They let her go first and made me wait. I pointed out the marks and the reflector debris that indicated the point of impact ( I had 22 years as a LEO investigating accidents.)