Sponsored by:

New to touring bikes - 3 hole oil change due

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2019, 08:52 AM
astolt12
Novice
Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
Default New to touring bikes - 3 hole oil change due

As the title says I’m new to touring bikes, have ridden Sportster my entire life and now that I have started taking more trips I decided to upgrade.

Picked up a used 2015 SGS a few weeks ago with about 4500 miles on it. She’s at about 5,200 now. Enjoying every bit! I planned on doing the full 3 hole fluid change as part of her 5,000 mile service. However in these ~700 miles I have noticed one thing I would like to try to address it with this fluid change. Hopefully y’all can help me answer these questions

- 1st gear whine. From what I can tell it’s due to the cut of the gears in 1st and 5th. I’ve read that Redline Shockproof will quiet her down. Is there any compatibility issue if I drain and use this if some old Harley fluid is still left in there?

- Never owned a bike before with a hydraulic clutch - is there anything special I have to do with the reservoir up top when changing the fluid from assumably Harley Davidson to a newer on? I don’t think the two systems are necessarily fluid sharing but I want to be sure.

- Engine oil - I assume it is the Harley Dino oil. I plan to go amsoil v twin full syn or possibly Mobil one. Has anyone ran this and what are your thoughts? Will be using a Harley oil filter

My big concern is using specific fluid for the different holes. While Harley calls out that syn 3 is good for everyone I have to think that a specific fluid is actually better than a one stop shop. Heard a lot about redline but never used it.

Anything helps! Thanks!

Old 04-29-2019, 09:03 AM
cycle7447
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 1,728 Likes on 1,049 Posts

Syn 3, in my opinion is good - but don't use it in all 3 holes. The transmission should get the Harley Formula. In fact, they just came out with a new formula Vis is 160 - so, it is like a syn oil.