Audio Systems Find answers to all of your stereo, speaker and other audio technology questions here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Soundstream and Polk db651's

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2013, 06:41 PM
just plain john
Elite HDF Member
Received 97 Likes on 78 Posts
Default Soundstream and Polk db651's

Several weeks ago, I added the Soundstream amp and Polk db651's. Just now I was looking at another thread, and it mentioned the db651's are 4 ohm, and the mm651's are 2 ohm. UltraNutz did the install for me, along with the Sony 310. I'm a audio noob, but I believe the amp is bridged. At any rate, it sounded great, but the next day I popped the right one (fairing mounted only). I turned the gain down a bit and put in a right db651. Sounded good with the accessory switch on, but when it's fired up I hear ignition noise on that one side. Last week I popped the left side, and replaced that one too. In addition, I lost all radio reception. I can stream my phone, but it's a drag to not be able to use the radio. Should I be running 2 ohm speakers? Anyone else have the reception issues with the Soundstream amp? Kinda at a loss on what to do next....

Old 03-18-2013, 07:11 PM
UltraNutZ
Extreme HDF Member
Received 137 Likes on 108 Posts

dang man.. listening to that Patsy Cline a little too loud? LOL

seriously though.. When you turned your gain down did you maybe loosen the right side RCA cable either at the radio or at the amp? Maybe the RCA outer is touching something metal which will cause noise injection.

As for the FM, have you by chance tried that powered antenna amplifier on your in-fairing antenna.

According to the specs on the DB651 they should be able to handle the power with the way I had the gains set. I would say no to the 2 ohm speakers because then you'll only be able to use front outputs of the amp. We might want to look into the Titan II speakers which are HAT speakers

Old 03-18-2013, 09:59 PM
blue66
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts