Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Should I go twinkie?

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2009, 11:57 PM
average_bear
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Should I go twinkie?

I've been riding a 1987 FXSTC for the past six years and it has been a fine motorcycle with no problems except for a weird speedo cable glitch. She's got 58000 on the clock and has been well cared for.The bike has taken literally everything I could throw at it and asked for more. However, I have decided to move on.

Now I'm looking to buy a 2006 FXDWGI with 1800 miles on it. She's a fine looking bike but I know literally nothing about these twin cams. Honestly, I've shunned them for quite a while as I've always hailed the evo as HD's flagship engine. That darned fuel injection just seems weird. But, old bear here has decided to get with the times. I just have a few questions.

To those who have owned both evos and twinks, what are some of the major differences you have noticed? I think I can perform most of the maintenance myself (I work on cars too). How are reliability, performance, and durability? What about the overheating I've heard about? What about the bearing issue? What in the hell is a power commander (sounds like something from Star Trek)?

Any other things that you folks could think of that I may want to look at. I would appreciate any advice.

Hope everyone is having a great weekend!

Old 05-24-2009, 02:30 AM
SC-Longhair
Club Member
Received 23 Likes on 18 Posts