Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Yet another sputter question

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2013, 07:07 PM
Woofron
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Yet another sputter question

I have a new (to me) 2001 Wide Glide. It's carbed, not fuel njected. I've run the bike for about 3000 miles this year without issue. Lately, though, it sputters, usually under heavy acceleration. Today it stalled at a light, just as I was taking off.
Most of the sputtering has been on the same tank of gas. From a station that only has E10.
It Has sputtered before, usually after lugging(?) the motor for a bit. I mean being in a higher gear than I should. Being a newby in the mountains means I'm still learning, but the sputtering only lasted an acceleration or two. When it happens I typically either back off on the gas, or pul the clutch, and it stops. Then I can accelerate fine, although I may be giving it more gas the second time around.
And recently I jest read In the owners manual I should be using 91 or better octane. Crap. I've been using just regular old 87.
Any ideas?

Old 06-04-2013, 08:17 PM
Junkster
Road Captain

Do not lug your bike. Its hard on these dynas. Better to keep your rpms up. Only burn premium gas. Run some cleaner thru the carb. Check your vacuum lines. I run a little stay bilt in my bike most of the time.

Old 06-04-2013, 08:19 PM
dirtdobber
Elite HDF Member
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts

Yes premium fuel is needed in a Harley.
I would run some sea foam through it before I do anything.
I run it in all my bikes every 2 months or so.