Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Lindby cras bars - opinions please

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2014, 09:24 AM
mijogab
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lindby cras bars - opinions please

I recently had to laydown my bike to avoid hitting a car. Caused damage to gas tank. So now i am thinking about installing Lindby Linbar highway bar to my 09 Fatbob. Wanted to get opinions on whether this will help minimize damage if i do have to lay it down again AND how you all think it would look.

Old 08-28-2014, 11:01 AM
Ratbob
Road Master
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

No crash bar is going to provide much protection for anything but a low speed fall. None that I've seen have any structural integrity. I've been running the Lindby bar for a few years now and I like it. Unfortunately they only come in chrome so I had to have it powder coated. I put DK custom's triple traps on for highway pegs and they work great!

Old 08-28-2014, 12:20 PM
Warp Factor
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 87 Likes on 75 Posts

I have a Lindby on my Softail, and it's a nice bar. The bike will rest on the bar at about 45 degrees (my wife discovered one day). But it has rather limited cornering clearance, and I've developed a bad habit of watching how close the bar comes to the pavement, to determine my cornering limits. Haven't put one on my Dyna for that reason.

Also not terribly fond of the way any crash bar looks on a "lean" bike. But having one might have saved me some grief the last time a bike slid down the road on top of my leg. Hard to know. A bar can also put a bike in a position where the tires are back in contact with the pavement while sliding, and cause it to "high side" or flip, which might be worse.

Last edited by Warp Factor; 08-28-2014 at 12:23 PM.
Old 08-28-2014, 01:38 PM