EVO All Evo Model Discussion

Complete Restore, how to decide

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2012, 01:31 PM
Lumpy Schmidt
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Complete Restore, how to decide

I bought my Tour Glide early August. It runs great, but it needs a lot of work. Rusty fenders, frame, rear shocks, leaky base gaskets and who knows what else. I haven't removed the seat yet, I've just been riding it. It's a '91 with 55K on it. The engine paint is shot, plastic/fiberglass chipped. It was ridden, not kept clean. I like the bike. I picked it up for $5600. Not sure if it was a good deal or not, but compared to 10K plus for a newer one, I was happy to get a running bike.

So I guess my question is at what point do you decide it's worth investing in and restoring it or just ride the bike for the next few years and upgrade? I'm not a mechanic by any means. I'd work on tearing it apart, but I wouldn't be comfortable doing anything major without an experienced person assisting me.

Any thoughts and or advice would be great.

Last edited by Lumpy Schmidt; 10-04-2012 at 01:40 PM.
Old 10-04-2012, 02:38 PM
D1gger
Road Captain
Received 9 Likes on 3 Posts

I think it all boils down to personal preference. I know originally when I bought my Tour Glide, I was in the same boat. It was a fixer-upper for sure, but was running and in my price range. At first I thought I would just ride it, fixing things as I went along, then possibly trading it in on a newer one later down the road when I wasn't going to be backwards on the deal(owing more than trade-in value).