Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Jekill and Hyde

my slip ons keep coming off!

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2007, 03:24 PM
michelob
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default my slip ons keep coming off!

I have an 06 dyna super glide. I bought SE slipons for it. I put them on and tightened them as tight as I could. No problem for about 10 miles. I went out and started the bike a few days ago and notice that they were slipping off. I shut the bike off and grabbed the pipes and the came right off.

I have them as tight as they will go. In the book catelog I took with me to the dealer, it said I needed a new clap kit, but the parts guy said the stock ones would work.

Am I missing something or do I need to go back and get new clamps....sorry for suck a stupid question but I am new to this.

Thanks!

Old 02-10-2007, 03:49 PM
lschultz
Road Master
Default RE: my slip ons keep coming off!

I would get some new muffler clamps and try that. I think HD says to replace them anytime you remove the mufflers but I have used them several times and they have not come loose. You might of overtightned them and stretched the threads. Get you a shop manual if you don't have one and torque them to what it says.

Old 02-10-2007, 03:53 PM
RenoGlide
Tourer

You are not the first to have this problem, sometimes the pipe & the mufflers have too much gap & no amunt of clamping force will fix it. Heres some options.....

You can ............

> buy new clamps and maybe it will help but may not fix it
> drill a hole & rivet the mufflers in place & use the clamp - dealers do this too
> make a shim from a alum cola can to take up the gap then clamp it on
> drill a hole & use a stainless self-tapping screw & the clamp
>use a exhaust pipe expander to stretch the exhaust pipe larger to take up the gap - do this carefully
> buy different mufflers....