Frame/Suspension/Front End/Brakes Discussions for your ride comfort and braking power.

New '24 Breakout, loose fork stem screw

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2024, 10:42 PM
24Breakout
Novice
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default New '24 Breakout, loose fork stem screw

Hey folks... I'd appreciate it if any of the wrenchers could give me some input here. I just noticed that the washer around the fork stem screw on my 2024 Breakout was spinning freely, and the screw itself was quite loose.... not finger loose, but definitely not where it's supposed to be. I torqued it to spec. The pinch bolt just below that washer was torqued properly, but there's a pretty big gap there. Is that normal? Bike is new, ~850 miles on her. No noticeable handling issues. Was planning on taking it in for the 1K service this weekend anyway. I will definitely be mentioning all the above when I take it in... just not sure how big a deal I should make of it, if at all. I'm no mechanic, but it is the steering column... I like the bike to go where I point it 🤣

Thoughts?

Last edited by 24Breakout; 04-30-2024 at 11:12 PM.
Old 05-04-2024, 03:44 PM
Tozco
Road Captain
Received 212 Likes on 137 Posts

The center bolt is used to preload the steering head bearings. There isn't a spec to tighten it to, it's tightened or loosened to get the correct steering head bearing adjustment. Having said that after I adjust the bearings, and tighten the pinch bolt, I do snug the center bolt down so it doesn't vibrate loose. You can completely remove the center bolt after the pinch bolt is tight, it doesn't do anything at that point. It's not HD at its best, virtually every other manufacturer uses a double nut arrangement for the steering stem.

Old 05-05-2024, 12:11 AM
24Breakout
Novice

Originally Posted by Tozco