General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First drop, seeking advice.

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2016, 04:19 PM
Nicholas McCaslin
Stage IV
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First drop, seeking advice.

So I did it, I dropped her for the first time. Bent handlebar, scratched the bottom of my pipes, the left rear signal, the master cylinder and the brake pedal. I was going about 8mph in a turn, the crosswalk paint must have been more slick than I thought it was. Anyway... a few questions.

Should I just bring it to a shop to see if the forks are bent and/or anything else is wrong?

How much do you think they would charge for installing new bars, looking over the bike, and possible doing a few cosmetic things?

I can take pics if it will help. First drop, first post, I'm a rookie here guys so go easy. Thanks for the time.

Old 10-18-2016, 04:45 PM
Ron750
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 16,518 Likes on 6,271 Posts

Do you have insurance? Year and model? Are you going to do the work, or have someone else do it?

Was the paint wet?

Old 10-18-2016, 04:52 PM
Nicholas McCaslin
Stage IV
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have insurance, 2009 nightster, the paint was definitely wet. I wasn't even going to consider going through insurance... but I guess I should consider it? I would do the work myself, depending on how much I think it might save me. Not against having a shop do it for the right price.

Old 10-18-2016, 05:43 PM
ChickinOnaChain
Big Kahuna HDF Member
Received 3,072 Likes on 2,556 Posts

You messed the right side...pipes, brake, etc...but how did it mess up the left turn signal?

Last edited by ChickinOnaChain; 10-19-2016 at 12:24 PM.
Old 10-18-2016, 07:10 PM
YammyDrummer
Road Warrior
Received 487 Likes on 288 Posts