General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question for the experienced

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2017, 10:05 AM
ftgokie
Novice
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Question for the experienced

Hello everyone as you can tell I am new here. Me and my wife have talked and we are going to get either a nice used Road King or maybe a Heritage around July. Also, my 16yr old son who is 5'11" and 175lbs, we are going to buy him a Harley as well. He has rode motorcycles since he was 12, raced go karts and has done some drag racing in a friends truck and also rode my friends Dyna. Me and my wife will want to go cruising and we will want our son to tag along. I was looking at an 883 this past weekend but a friend of mine said to not even consider an 883 to look at something bigger. With me being a total newb and not really knowing what in the hell to be looking for, what would you all suggest for me to be looking at? I want him to be comfortable and be able to enjoy it, but I don't want him having something that is too much, if that makes sense.... So, point me in the right direction so I can be looking at something and not wasting my time! Thanks all!

Old 05-08-2017, 10:25 AM
upflying
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 26,244 Likes on 11,126 Posts

I wouldn't give your 16 yr old son a Harley.
If he wants a bike, have him get a job, save and buy his own.
As a first bike, steer him to a used Honda/Suzuki/Yamaha..like a SV650 or a Dual Sport. No more than a 650.
Insurance will be crazy expensive for a 16 yr old.
At 16, I was riding a Yamaha 100.

Last edited by upflying; 05-08-2017 at 10:30 AM.
The following users liked this post:
baka1969 (05-08-2017)
Old 05-08-2017, 10:31 AM
Wowser
Road Warrior
Received 424 Likes on 258 Posts

To point your son in the right direction to buy any vehicle:

https://www.ziprecruiter.com/

Old 05-08-2017, 10:33 AM
ftgokie
Novice

Originally Posted by upflying