General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need Trailering advice

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2017, 09:22 AM
wendon65
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need Trailering advice

Happy holiday season everyone. I know I am going to receive a ton of crap for this question. I am from the east coast. With next year, I have 2 major events happening. At the end of the summer, our oldest daughter is going to be married. At the same time of year, my wife and I are celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. I postponed a 2 weeker (anniversary trip)at the end of September for the wedding. (TMI but I am setting up my situation)
I think it’s time to make it out to Rapid City in July. It will be our first time out West. I am a military vet and want to see all of the monuments and the land.
But I want to get there quick. That means trailering and not riding. I don’t want to go broke on a trailer purchase with a wedding in October. The better the trailer, the more expensive. I hope you all know what I am getting at. How have my fellow bikers gotten out there without breaking the bank but still protecting the bike.
Thank you in advance
“Cheers”
don

Old 12-09-2017, 09:29 AM
sbarron
Road Master
Received 200 Likes on 143 Posts

Patience. I waited through several months of looking before the trailer I wanted at the price I wanted came along... I also had to be in the right place at the right time with cash-in-hand or I'd have missed it.

Check local bulletin boards or similar as this will likely reduce the shopping competition a bit.

Old 12-09-2017, 09:34 AM
ShovelEd
Club Member
Received 39,246 Likes on 10,250 Posts

Check out Craigslist ads.
Remember the price listed is usually a “wish” price.
There are deals to be had with proper “realistic” negotiation.
Cash talks, and silly low-ball offers just pizz folks off.

Last edited by ShovelEd; 12-09-2017 at 09:37 AM.