General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

^%&^%#*&(*) Cheap A$$ Hardware Store Tools

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2019, 01:17 PM
ole_phart
Road Master

Received 580 Likes on 362 Posts
Default ^%&^%#*&(*) Cheap A$$ Hardware Store Tools

I was an aircraft mechanic in a previous life, FAA A&P certificated. I was a believer in Snap-On Tools. If for nothing else a prospective customer was evaluating shops and he or she saw one shop with roll cabs loaded with Snap-On and another shop with Craftsman, Proto or whatever, chances are they'd go with the Snap-On shop. Pic shows what happens with cheap ch!t. The other end is in the screw that attaches the front brake line clamp under the triple trees. This with a tiny a$$ 1/4" ratchet, not like I was using a breaker bar or anything. Needless to say I said screw it and took the rest of the day off before something else went south on me. Not enough of the bit in the head of the fastener to grip with pliers. I need a beer.

Old 01-12-2019, 02:14 PM
eaglefan1
Stellar HDF Member
Received 1,135 Likes on 764 Posts

I am also a firm believer in quality tools. In the last year 99% of my craftsman tools have been given to my son and snap on, mac, matco stuff has moved in. Mac ratchet wrenches, Matco tore drivers, everything else is SO. Some new some used.
From what I have experienced, the biggest difference I have encountered is with torx and hex bit sockets. HF, lowes and HD stuff is absolute garbage compared to my snap on set. Tolerances are so much tighter with better tools.

Im sure the harbor freight guys will chime in with why that stuff is just as good. Ill stick with the truck brands from now on.

The following 2 users liked this post by eaglefan1:
Northernproducer (01-13-2019), tar_snake (01-12-2019)
Old 01-12-2019, 02:16 PM
upflying
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 26,237 Likes on 11,124 Posts