General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Belt Tension Adjustment Question

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2010, 07:25 PM
krusty1
Elite HDF Member
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Belt Tension Adjustment Question

I'm new to belt drives, so I haven't really developed a feel for these new-fangled things. It's a new FXD with about 700 miles on it, and I intend to do the 1000 mile service myself. Got the shop manual. When I measure my belt deflection with the HD deflection tool I'm getting about twice the recommended deflection for the 10 lbs of sideload....I know how to move the rear axle back to increase the tension, but can anybody give me an idea of how sensitive that adjustment is? In other words, will I probably end up turning each of the adjustment bolts (equally, of course) a fraction of a turn, or quite a bit more?

Old 03-02-2010, 07:30 PM
dope_man_21
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts

The adjuster is a fine thread pattern, you will likely end up with a couple of full turns. When I adjust mine I usually do one full turn and measure, repeat if needed.

Old 03-02-2010, 07:36 PM
krusty1
Elite HDF Member

Originally Posted by dope_man_21
The adjuster is a fine thread pattern, you will likely end up with a couple of full turns. When I adjust mine I usually do one full turn and measure, repeat if needed.
Thanks!
Is belt wear and stretch pretty much a continual process....or is the initial adjustment the largest?

Old 03-02-2010, 10:16 PM
dope_man_21
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts

I usually end up adjusting mine some every 5000 miles, I didn't do the first couple due to the terms of my purchase where the dealer did the service

Old 03-03-2010, 05:49 AM
cheaponecoat
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts