General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Who's wearing High visibility vests

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2010, 09:25 AM
wraplock
Road Captain
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Who's wearing High visibility vests

Anyone (besides you military guys) wear a high visibility vest when you ride. If so do you feel it helps? How high is the "Dick" factor, as in do you feel like a dick wearing the vest. I'm thinking about picking up the Harley Davidson vest. Saw a guy riding the other day and it seems OK to me. When I was younger I wouldn't have given this **** a second thought but with all the terds on cell phones and texting I'm starting to wonder if this isn't a better idea.

I am a fire police officer and wear high visibility clothes while on the street but have been nearly run down by cars on a few occasions. Got the standard "oops I didn't see you". I mean WTF, I'm turned out in a green high visibility coat, hat, Gloves etc. So my question is does it help or are the dick heads just not gonna see ya no matter what your wearing? What is your experience. It's gotta help right.... Thanks..

Old 11-17-2010, 09:49 AM
fevest
Cruiser
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

I do when I go to work, civilian at a military base. Don't when on my own. If they can't see the lights on my ultra the vest isn't going to matter.
In reality I don't think they look at all, hell, they hit cars. Too busy with the phone or ipod. In my neighborhood a kid hit my friends peterbuilt. Kid said he didn't see it. How do you not see a peterbuilt?

Old 11-17-2010, 09:53 AM
dyna-rider
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I have the Harley reflective vest that I wear after dark. Have been told by people riding behind me that I really made a difference in visibility. I don't wear it during the day though.

Old 11-17-2010, 09:54 AM
SeLFiSh 1
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts