General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

No MSF course?

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2010, 09:20 AM
olddude48
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default No MSF course?

Who has not taken an MSF course? I have been riding since around 1963 or 4 and have never taken an MSF course. I think about taking the advanced class but never get around to it.
Anyone else on this forum that has not taken it? Would I get enough out of it after all these years or would I find that I am to set in my ways?

Old 11-22-2010, 09:24 AM
dope_man_21
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts

I started riding in 1988, never took any course, I too have thought about it many times but in a way kinda scared that I will learn how wrong I have been the whole time.

Old 11-22-2010, 09:34 AM
Mike T
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I've been riding since 1974.I don't know if I would have anything to gain.

Old 11-22-2010, 09:45 AM
asm481
Road Master
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts

I rode from 83 till about 04 without training. Got pulled over for no plates on a new to me bike. Of course they ask for drivers license. Cop was cool let me off with a verbal warning and my promise to take an MSF course. (Takes forever around here to get an appointment with DMV.)
End of story is I did learn a few things during the course and now I have my endorsement.

Old 11-22-2010, 09:48 AM
JohnnyC
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default No Formal Training here!

My first license back in 1974 had a motorcycle endorsement. I've carried a cycle license ever since then.

I read the book and answered 10 questions. I can remember being followed around the block by a cop for my road test. Took it right after my driver's license driving exam was finished.

Years on the road have given me advanced training ... lol.

Old 11-22-2010, 09:49 AM
rodnock
Road Warrior