General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Maintenance Schedule???

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2013, 02:06 PM
perrypogue
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Maintenance Schedule???

I'm very new and inexperienced just buying my first Dyna last May. Then bought a new '13 Fat Bob last Oct. I'm using synthetic oil and so far I've stayed with the maintenance schedule of every 5k. I've put on 26k since last May. I'm no mechanic for sure so all maintenance is done by my dealer at about $450 every 5k. I'm thinking of changing to 10k for regular maintenance which I believe to be primarily an oil change. If moving to 10k from 5k is a bad idea I'd like to be told. I don't want to abuse my bike but it seems that I'm paying too much too often. Please advise me.

Old 02-20-2013, 02:14 PM
tOSUSteve
Road Master
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

I wouldn't push the oil 10K miles. Changing the fluids is very easy to do yourself.

Old 02-20-2013, 02:15 PM
wtb3886
Tourer
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Go to Harley web site and there is a link that you can type in your VIN number and see whats in an maintenance schedule, find a mechanic away from HD and you will see a drop in overall price you have to pay that is if you don't want to do the work.

Old 02-20-2013, 02:16 PM
oldairboater
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts