Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Can someone explain knock retard events on my PowerVision log..

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2020, 01:43 PM
CAJ411
Intermediate
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Can someone explain knock retard events on my PowerVision log..

I'm new to tuning and have a lot to learn, but trying to tackle a little at a time. I'm currently trying to understand the knock retard events in my PowerVision log.

Is the goal to achieve zero knock events?
Are they bad for the engine?
How many events or how large a retard value is bad if I can't tune it all out? I'm getting mostly .5 to 1.5, with an occasional 2.0, in values.
When I see these events in the log, is the system retarding the timing and the value is how much is being retarded?

Here is the scenario. I added a PowerVision tuner to my stage 1 2018 Fat Bob. I initially ran the custom map from FuelMoto and it ran fine. I took a look at the logs and there were a lot of knock retard events on both cylinders, so I decided to run some autotune sessions. After 2 autotune runs, the knock retard events have subsided, none on the front and only some knock events on the rear cylinder when I crank on the throttle and the MAP pressures get in the higher range.

Can anyone enlighten me on this area of tuning?

Old 11-04-2020, 02:17 PM
rustbelt shanks
3rd Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts