Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection Need advice on ignition issues? Questions about a tuner? Have questions about a EFI calibration or Fuel Injection? Tips on Engine Diagnostics, how to get codes, and what they mean. Find your answers here.

Fuel Pak Settings - 07 FLHTC

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2008, 12:24 PM
Tbones
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel Pak Settings - 07 FLHTC

I've been reading posts on the pro's and con's of Vance and Hines Fuel Pak, problems and solutions encountered using this FI system. First, a little background on myself. I am new to this forum and this is my first post. I am a 84 graduate of MMI, have wrenched for HD dealers and a previous independant motorcycle shop owner. I only say this so folks will understand that I have a above average skill level working on and with Harley's. Ok, now onto the installation.

My bike is a stock 07, with stock ECU. I purchased the Vance and Hines big shot duals, fuel pak and K&N high flow air filter kit for the FLHTC. I also own a 05 V-Rod and 06 Dyna Wide Glide. I purchased the Power Commander for the V-Rod. There are pro's and con's to both FI systems.

Once I installed the fuel pak, I took the bike out for a test run to see how it performed. The map provided by Vance and Hines seemed to be a little flat from mid to full throttle. Other than that, the engine felt smooth through circuit transitions from idle to full open. I did not experience the deacceleration popping that some have with this system. No hesitations or misfires were present during the test ride. Having said this, the bike still felt "flat" during the test. I am old school and my dyna is the seat of my pants and from this I believe the setup is still running a little on the lean side from mid to full open.