Notices
Milwaukee Eight (M8) 2017 and up M8 Air and Liquid Cooled discussion

Thundermax questions

 
  #1  
Old 01-11-2019, 02:49 PM
shore's Avatar
shore
shore is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Port Orange, Fl
Posts: 2,396
Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
Default Thundermax questions

Looking at a used complete thundermax for the M8. $300. Am I right in thinking that this is the only way to tune without leaving a footprint on the M8 for warranty issues should they arise or does this leave a footprint or something else that tell tales?
 
  #2  
Old 01-11-2019, 04:29 PM
purpledeuce's Avatar
purpledeuce
purpledeuce is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3,583
Received 515 Likes on 341 Posts
Default

The thundermax replaces the entire ecu, but I would think the other mods will void your warranty. Bottom line is keep it stock or screaming eagle if you’re worried about warranty. Be a mature person and take responsibility for your actions
 
  #3  
Old 01-11-2019, 06:39 PM
ghostrunner's Avatar
ghostrunner
ghostrunner is offline
Supporter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Joplin, mo
Posts: 962
Received 117 Likes on 89 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by purpledeuce View Post
The thundermax replaces the entire ecu, but I would think the other mods will void your warranty. Bottom line is keep it stock or screaming eagle if you’re worried about warranty. Be a mature person and take responsibility for your actions
with him you play you pay
 
  #4  
Old 01-12-2019, 07:25 AM
shore's Avatar
shore
shore is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Port Orange, Fl
Posts: 2,396
Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

I'm looking for someone who has used one and knows the particulars on it. I'm curious on ecm storage of mileage and how that is affected by swapping ecm's. Say I have a Nav failure. Put the bike back to stock exhaust/ecm and take it in. Is the stock ecm going to show a different # on a scan than the dash gauge?

I'm simply not doing that if that's the case.
 
  #5  
Old 01-12-2019, 10:39 AM
Max Headflow's Avatar
Max Headflow
Max Headflow is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: poway
Posts: 7,056
Received 1,001 Likes on 835 Posts
Default

While I don't really know for sure, I suspect that you'd be OK. The only thing that goes on between the ECU and Speedo is mileage which they both store. IIRC when either the speedo or ECU see a mileage discrepancy, they set the mileage to whichever is bigger. I'm not sure if it creates an error that can't be cleared through the speedo when you go back to the stock ECU. I would send an email to TH and ask, I bet they know..

I might be interested in the Tmax as my warranty is about to run out..
 

Last edited by Max Headflow; 01-12-2019 at 10:42 AM. Reason: when you go back to the stock ECU
  #6  
Old 01-12-2019, 10:42 AM
shore's Avatar
shore
shore is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Port Orange, Fl
Posts: 2,396
Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

good idea.
 
  #7  
Old 01-12-2019, 05:08 PM
Yardstick's Avatar
Yardstick
Yardstick is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 625
Received 31 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Using the thundermax does not leave a footprint in the stock ecu as it is removed. When I used it and switched it back to the stock ecu, the mileage updated.
 
The following users liked this post:
Max Headflow (01-13-2019)
  #8  
Old 01-13-2019, 07:03 AM
shore's Avatar
shore
shore is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Port Orange, Fl
Posts: 2,396
Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

mileage updated where?
 
  #9  
Old 01-13-2019, 02:51 PM
Bad B5.9
Bad B5.9 is offline
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Is this the tuner your selling?
 
  #10  
Old 01-14-2019, 11:14 AM
shore's Avatar
shore
shore is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Port Orange, Fl
Posts: 2,396
Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

yes it is.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: