Oil Archive (no new posts) An archive of oil related questions and comments.
View Poll Results: Use one oil in 3 holes, or seperate oils for each hole?
Only use 20w50 Mobil one vtwin synthetic for all 3 holes
8.82%
Use 3 different types of oils ,1 for main, 1 for trans, 1 for primary
82.35%
Use mobil one 20 w 50 in the main and primary, use seperate gear oil for transmission.
8.82%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 34. You may not vote on this poll

3 hole oil change...

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2021, 07:47 AM
EricBfromthe718
Stage III
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 3 hole oil change...

HI everybidy, Im new here and I see this is a topic thats all over the place.
I have a 2003 flstci with the 88 motor.
it has 15k miles and I want to change the 3 fluids.
the main, the primary and the transmission.
can I just use the mobil 1 20w50 vtwin synthetic oil in all 3 holes or do I have to use the special oils for each. This is my first time working on a Harley and I dont want to eff it up.
Also, for my bike, how much oil in each hole?
and I will have a new filter also.
I looked in the owners manual, it doesnt say how many ounces of oil for the primary or trans.
Thank you,
Eric

Old 08-26-2021, 09:21 AM
hattitude
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 7,629 Likes on 4,118 Posts

That will work, but IMHO, it is not optimum....

And if I may suggest, if you are going to work on your bike, you should get an HD Service Manual for your year/model bike... it will give you almost all the info you will ever need.. Much better than off brand manuals

On the topic of oil, FWIW:

I use a synthetic oil for the engine, because it's air cooled. Synthetic oils withstand higher heat better than a dino oil. I currently use Motul 7100 20W50 in my engines.

I use a non-synthetic primary oil, because most performance shops recommend against using synthetic in the primary, especially in higher HP applications. In the primary, I use Bel-Ray Primary chain case lubricant.