Powdercoat & Paint A place to discuss everything about powder coat and paint for your Harley.

Questions about powdercoating some parts

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2018, 03:31 AM
Valleyofthegun
Cruiser
Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
Default Questions about powdercoating some parts

I recently picked up a 2012 Street Bob that was laid down. Needless to say I have to get some powdercoating done. A friend offered to do the powdercoating for nothing but the cost of the powder. The company he works for does garage doors and he has offered to put my parts on the powdercoat line. This means I will need to do all the prep. I have no experience with powdercoating. I have educated myself from reading and watching videos so I have most of it covered but I do still have a few questions. I want to make sure I do it the correct way and that I don't run into fitment issues afterwards.

The parts I am doing is both triple trees, the mid controls and linkage, the fork sliders. My first question is after I media blast the parts, does a primer have to be laid down before the powdercoat. I saw a few videos where they said you definitely want to use a primer first. I have seen others where they don't use a primer.
2nd, I know plugs have to be put it the holes to protect the areas that I don't want powder coated. My question is do plugs get put into the area of the fork sliders where the tubes go into? Do plugs get put into the holes of the trees where the fork tubes go. Do they make plugs that big or is there some other way people protect those areas. I have scoured forums and videos but I can not find any step by step.
Any insight that could be given would be greatly appreciated.

Old 05-19-2018, 01:52 PM
bustert
Grand HDF Member
Received 715 Likes on 626 Posts