Primary/Transmission/Driveline/Clutch Find answers to general powertrain, primary and transmission. Have clutch issues and need suggestions? Post them here.

Shifting Issues on 2015 Street Bob

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2016, 10:27 AM
mtmajeski
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Shifting Issues on 2015 Street Bob

Greetings all,

Sorry if this is long-winded:

Having a few issues with my new 2015 Street bob. I bought the bike from the original owner with only 1.3k miles on it. Now it has 2k miles.

The bike already had HD forward controls put on (the less time consuming way without removing the primary covers to get the mid control shifter out). I noticed that the shifting was not at all smooth at the foot peg. Shifting from first to second (and downshifting from second to first) felt like the shifter peg was meeting more resistance then I've felt on my past bikes (19 motorcycles total, including previous Dynas). I'd say I'm a beginner "wrencher" but always willing to learn and have been slowly adding to my repertoire of things I can do. I didn't want the hassle of removing both the inner and outer primary covers, so I took it to the dealer to look at. $500 later, they installed the shift lever (one that comes with the HD forward controls) and removed the mid control shaft.

I noticed some clutch drag when the bike was cold (when pulling the clutch in after taking off, the bike would still slightly pull and coast as if not fully disengaged). Because they had just adjusted the clutch I took it back to the dealer. They said they adjusted the clutch again. Same issues. So after research (with help from this forum) I have adjusted my clutch pack and lever over 5 times to try to fine-tune. I've settled at 1/2 counterclockwise turn after lightly seated, and 1/16th free play. New Redline primary fluid, and redline shockproof trans fluid.