Primary/Transmission/Driveline/Clutch Find answers to general powertrain, primary and transmission. Have clutch issues and need suggestions? Post them here.

2018 Softail Street Bob Clutch Issue

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2020, 06:05 PM
arbam8
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2018 Softail Street Bob Clutch Issue

Hi everybody!

I'm new on this forum and I've been having some issues with my bike, so I'll try to explain it as clearly as I can:

The story:
I got my brand new 2018 Softail Street Bob two years ago. It's my first Harley, but I also have a Triumph and I've had two other bikes. I've been riding for 5 years.
I've been really happy with it and I already changed some parts (Hollywood handlebars, Sundowner seat, Vance & Hines slip-ons, sissy bar and crash bars). I never had an issue with my bike until some weeks ago.
I've just put 1,000 miles on the bike, but some weeks ago I took it to the dealership for its two-year service. I picked it up and took it home, but as soon as I parked, it began leaking oil from the oil drain plug. I was mad, because I've changed the oil several times on my Bonneville and it never leaks, and my Harley had never leaked before until that day, so I took it back to the dealership and they said they would repair it. They didn't want to admit it, but I think that they damaged the o-ring and didn't replace it.
So... later I picked it up again and there was no more oil leaking, but I felt something weird on the clutch...

The problem:
The feel on my clutch lever used to be smooth but firm, you know... it used to be fine, but then, after I picked it up from the dealership, these were the symptoms:
- There was a lot of free play on the lever
- It was hard to find neutral
- I had to pull the lever to the top in order to switch to 1st gear
- When in first gear and with the clutch fully engaged the bike would go forward. I needed to hold the front brakes for it to stand still