Shovelhead A place to talk about Shovelheads.

Reliability of a 1970 Shovelhead?

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2015, 06:37 PM
CZshooter
Cruiser
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Reliability of a 1970 Shovelhead?

I'm looking at buying a 1970 Electra Glide, provided I can buy it right.

From what pics I've seen of it, it has 15,000 miles, and is in pretty rough condition cosmetically. Its been in storage for a long time, unridden, seat falling apart, wheels are rusted/pitted, etc. No idea on engine, fuel tank, etc. New tires & brakes, go over wheel bearings, etc, are a given.

I'm thinking of buying it as a winter project, with the goal of making it look decent, but not a "show quality" bike. Strip it down, repaint frame, tank, fenders. also figuring on tearing the engine down, and replace all the gaskets and seals at a minimum. It will be a semi-daily driver- -I need reliability over looks.

I'm a decent mechanic, and can rewire it if necessary. Not afraid to spend money on a new carb, and an electronic ignition, or spend my winter evenings in the garage.

What are the weak points of a 45 year old shovel? If I go over it, will it give me decent reliability? Or are these machines maintenance hogs?

Or would I be better off saving up for another year and buying an evo?

Old 10-06-2015, 07:32 PM
Racepres
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 2,054 Likes on 1,510 Posts

Don't take this wrong...But those kinds of "projects" are usually best for folks who have already had older equipment, and more than one of 'em...
I'm betting a Dyna TwinCam is the best "bang for the buck" in todays' market...
Check Prices, and Replacement parts costs, and Make yer Decision..
Labor??? That will be ongoing...
Gonna take a "special" kind of individual to make an old, neglected Shovelhead a "Daily Driver"

Old 10-06-2015, 07:37 PM
Uncle Larry
Seasoned HDF Member

Received 47,791 Likes on 18,561 Posts

Originally Posted by CZshooter