Shovelhead A place to talk about Shovelheads.

Questions on 93" S&S big bore engine

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2017, 06:24 AM
Scooten75shovel
Stage I
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Questions on 93" S&S big bore engine

Hello Hello Hello~~~

I'm new to the "ShoveHead" world! I was finally able to acquire my 75 ShovelHead close to a year ago. I have done a lot of research and have learned a lot about Shovelheads! Wowww
I was supposed to get a build sheet on the engine but yeaaa that didn't happen! Along with alot of other things I found either wasn't true or done right. I was only able to ride about mmm maybe a dozen times before I had to start tearing it down to fix things the right way!
I have a complete S&S engine "Big Bore Sidewinder" and after emailing S&S the crank case #s I was informed that the bottom end is 93"~3 5/8"~4 1/2 stroke and since I didn't have piston prt#s that's all they could tell me. Since it smoked oil pretty bad on rear cylinder I decided to dig into it. Also the seat post bar was not moved back far enough and rear rocker was not just hitting but resting on seat post. I took care of that by cutting out post and installing a piece of bent DOM pipe~ have lots clearence now.
I found in the inspection of the rear cylinder that there is several gouges and that I am going to have to bore it out. The front jug has some gouges but could be honed. And the front has a lot of oil on the head too. Possibly rings????
So here's my questions~~~

My bottom end is a 93"~~pistons are .020 (single plug heads) what do I have?

How far can I bore my jugs with out running into problems? Keep in mind I'd like to ride this long distance and not building a drag bike so I'd like not to have to wrench on it along side the road!! 😎

And if I have to replace my jugs what aptions are there without changing my stroke and besides S&S who else makes kits?