General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The Thrill Is Gone

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2018, 12:36 PM
FunGramps
Banned
Received 1,544 Likes on 900 Posts
Default The Thrill Is Gone

I've been riding various bikes for the last 50 years, dirt, flat track racing, and road, including seven different Harley's over the last 18 years. Bikes have been my passion since I first rode two-up with my dad on his then new 1967 Ducati Bronco 350 at age 12. I don't know if it is the huge traffic growth where I am in W WA after moving from Montana, or what...but I've lost my desire to ride. Sold my last Harley months ago, and I don't miss it. Is it just me, or is there anyone else who is thinking about hanging it up? It sucks! Like dumping an old friend you've had most of your life. Anyway, I'm happy for all of you who would rather be on two wheels than anything else!

Old 07-16-2018, 12:41 PM
dpmerrill
Tourer
Received 80 Likes on 53 Posts

The huge increase in traffic and texters has taken a lot of fun out of my local rides, but luckily out here in the west I can usually push through it and get to open roads in less than an hour.

Everywhere I go has more tourists every time I get there, so it won't last forever, but so far, so good!

Old 07-16-2018, 01:00 PM
DeafUltra
Elite HDF Member
Received 118 Likes on 82 Posts

Seems like the last 5 years I've lost interest in hardcore riding after losing 4 friends who are riders to death. 3 of them with left turn cagers and 1 at his own fault. Yeah, I get pissed off at people who drive, text and talk on their phones. I'd rather live and die at a later date.

Still ride nowadays when I can. Rode last Saturday nearly 300 miles and got real tired afterwards. It isn't the same anymore so I'll take it one day at a time and see how things will float my way.

Thorey

Old 07-16-2018, 01:00 PM
TroutBum
Tourer
Received 107 Likes on 66 Posts