Frame/Suspension/Front End/Brakes Discussions for your ride comfort and braking power.

Legends Axeo Help

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2024, 01:56 AM
Lunatic_Fringe
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Legends Axeo Help

Hello,

New user here and first post so I hope I'm in the correct forum.

I have a 2005 Road King standard which I installed the regular -1 inch Legend Axeo cartridges in the front a few years ago along with 12 inch Revo A's on the back. I'm looking to install a 21inch wheel.

I contacted Legends for advice and was advised to send in the cartidges and they will adjust them to accomodate the 21 inch wheel to prevent my front end from kissing my front fender. I was quoted $200 bucks to send them in. Of course I'll have to pay any shippings costs.

My question is, does anyone know what needs adjusted with the cartidges to accommodate the 21 inch wheel and could you share with me how to do it? I've always done all the maintenace on my bike, but I'm no mechanic so I learn as I go.

Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks!

Old 04-25-2024, 11:44 PM
LQQK_OUT
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 1,565 Likes on 1,083 Posts

Did you ask Legend's what they are doing?
Looking at the Legend's website, I see they sell a product called "Travel Limiter Kits For 21″ Wheels (1997-2024)". But this product has nothing to do with the cartridge, which you mentioned needs to be sent back. I suggest calling Legends and ask them. Report back with your findings. Thanks!

Old 04-26-2024, 08:58 AM
Harley_ish
Road Master
Received 468 Likes on 308 Posts

Do you plan on installing some sort of bracket that raises the fender?

Some/Most who install a 21" on a 2000-13 Touring bike, might enlarge a mounting hole to slightly tilt the fender for more clearance on 21".

And if you're not raising the fender, you would still have the same existing "suspension travel space" regardless of size of wheel used

Old 04-26-2024, 09:15 AM
Lunatic_Fringe
6th Gear

Originally Posted by LQQK_OUT