Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

high speed wobble on custom softail

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2017, 01:18 PM
Marilyn Sunny Strauss
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default high speed wobble on custom softail

I am new at this... started a forum once. Give me a break if I don't respond right away.

I have to share this because it is new you can use - added quick disconnect fairing and hard bags to my CVO Convertible. I have had high speed wobble since. Been trying to make sure all is right and then I put a back seat on my bike and rode b*tch to see what it would do. I normally had the wobble at 80 and we took it out over 110

My next step is to get a couple turns on the shocks in the rear. Anyone else have ideas (don't tell me to gain weight!)

Sunny

Old 09-05-2017, 07:57 PM
FLSSBart
Cruiser
Received 32 Likes on 29 Posts

Wobbles and instability are "usually" a sign of not enough weight on the front-end. All the things you added takes weight off the front, even the fairing.

I'd crank up some preload on on the rear.

What I state assumes you don't have other issues like loose steering head bearings, forks that have leaked fluid, etc...

The following users liked this post:
Marilyn Sunny Strauss (09-06-2017)
Old 09-05-2017, 11:17 PM
langwilliams
Elite HDF Member
Received 302 Likes on 274 Posts

I'd check the torque on the fork nut, I heard HD raised it at one point but I read that a long time ago an do remember what bikes they raised it on...I added a little windshield that has the little curved up lip an it seems to help high speed stability, like it added a little down force on the front forks.

you can also:

have the tire checked for balance, check front/rear wheel alignment, if using a spoke wheel check for a loose spoke

Old 09-06-2017, 07:30 AM
Marilyn Sunny Strauss
6th Gear

Originally Posted by FLSSBart