Softail Models Standard, Custom, Night Train, Deuce, Springer, Heritage, Fatboy, Deluxe, Rocker and Cross Bones.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question about 05 Springer front end

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2022, 08:00 PM
Tcrafty
Road Warrior
Received 1,783 Likes on 812 Posts
Default Question about 05 Springer front end

Heading out to look at an '05 Springer Softail Classic tomorrow and had a question about the springer front end.

I've always wanted a springer, and this may be my chance, but I was looking at the photos and I wanted to ask if anyone here saw anything I should be aware of when inspecting the front end. I know springers need occasional maintenance, and the owner says he's had the bike since new. So, he should know if any maintenance has been done. But how do I find out if the front end is solid? I've watched the HD videos of the springer frontend maintenance, but is there a way to check it out on the initial ride or by looking at it? (Noob here, please be patient).

Also, look at the front end shot, does it appear that there are the right amount of spacers on the axle?

Here's an exploded view from Ronnie's.

Any information is greatly appreciated! Heading out to take a look at the bike tomorrow and would just like to know as much as possible going in. Thanks all....

Old 08-03-2022, 08:47 AM
hattitude
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 7,468 Likes on 4,045 Posts

I bought a 2001 Springer 5 years ago. It only had 9.8K miles, and it's my third bike, so it currently only has 13K miles... I have not done much maintenance on the front end yet, due to the low mileage. Mine is an FXSTS, not the FLSTS, so my front Springer is a little different, mainly in the way the fender is attached..