Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

very light ticking sound from the top end

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2013, 06:37 PM
Bucky Katt
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default very light ticking sound from the top end

I have a 1995 XLH1200, stock internally as far as i know. i've had it about 2 months or so and in the last week or so a new noise has cropped up. once the motor warms up i'm getting a light ticking sound from the top end, i dont think it's exhaust and it's only noticeable at idle once it hits operating temperature. this is my first American V-twin so i just dont know if any kind of top end noise is normal or not. it runs good both hot and cold with no backfiring. this noise is very very faint and it just doesnt have the "oomph" of excessive valve clearances. before breaking my neck and back a few years ago i was a BMW/Triumph tech and i've been working on bikes and cars for 30+ years now. i DONT have a factory service manual yet.
oil levels are all good and theres less than 1000 miles on the oil.

sorry for the poor quality phone picture. that was taken the day i got it.

Attached Thumbnails very light ticking sound from the top end-95-sportster.jpg  
Old 08-13-2013, 06:41 PM
rooti
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

It's a sporty...that's how they sound

Old 08-13-2013, 06:45 PM
Bucky Katt
Novice

okay, so nothing to worry about. i just wanted to be sure as it didnt make the sound when i got it. Thanks!

Old 08-13-2013, 06:50 PM
Guitarman_sg
Road Master
Received 129 Likes on 80 Posts

Sportster motors are fairly noisy, my wife rides a 2012 Iron and it is quite noisy in the top end. I have also been told if you are running synthetic oil it will be louder than if you are using conventional oil as well.

Old 08-13-2013, 06:52 PM
Bucky Katt
Novice

Originally Posted by Guitarman_sg