The Dark Side For those members running "Car Tires" on their scoots. This is for their discussion only and not a place for "non dark siders" to mouth off about their negative opinions of this idea!

DarkSide? What's that? Just kidding!

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2017, 08:28 PM
Bonnie Storm
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 1,224 Likes on 706 Posts
Default DarkSide? What's that? Just kidding!

Okay, I'll admit it, I'm a DarkSider, and been one for several years now. I'm currently running the Yokohama Envigor 205/60R16 on the rear of my FLHX and the Bridgestone Battlaxe BT45 130/70H18 sport rear tire on the front in reverse. Can we say Double Dark? I removed all of the balance weights from the rims and added Tire Balance beads. I've been running this combination for a couple of years now. Before that was a G-Max 03 for the rear which I switched out after a few months of riding. The sidewalls were too soft for my liking.

The Envigor has faired well taking on one small screw. The Envigor, even though it had 18# of air left in the tire still enabled me to ride home where I was able to fix it with a regular car tire plug. That was maybe 7,000 miles ago.

While I considered changing it simply because of the plug, I decided to leave it be until the tire is worn sufficiently to warrant changing it. And no, I don't take my bike to some shop and have someone there change it for me. I change my tires myself with the use of tire spoons and some soapy water. The hardest part is removing the tires from the bike.

My next set of tires will be a little different. Maybe a little taller for the rear and a little taller and fatter for the front. So far the speedometer comes to within a couple MPH of my GPS.

So YES, I'm a DarkSider (we have bacon!)

If any of y'all are on the edge trying to decide if DarkSiding is for you (it isn't for everyone) try it. You won't regret it, at least I know I don't.

Old 10-30-2017, 08:45 AM
recklessfxdf
Novice
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts