Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What really caused this guy to scrape and crash?

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2015, 03:43 PM
Betteroff
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What really caused this guy to scrape and crash?

I know everyone here has seen this video. I have been riding for over 5 years now. I have about 60k miles under my butt and have put over 14k miles on my 14 Ultra. Most of the time I do scrape is on a cloverleaf on/off ramp. When I scrape I immediately back off on the throttle and "try" to stand the bike up some.

I go to the mountains once a year and love the twisties. I ran the Dragon for the first time last year and scrapped a few times but nothing scary.

Besides hanging the curve too fast for a lowered bike, would this guy had been ok if he applied some rear brake and slowed down a little.

What's the best thing to do in this situation?

I guess my question sounded dumb. Does applying the rear brake make sense in this situation or just let off the throttle and no brake?

Last edited by Betteroff; 05-14-2015 at 04:23 PM. Reason: Forgot to post video link.
Old 05-14-2015, 04:04 PM
GTK
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 579 Likes on 414 Posts

I can only say never put yourself in a stituation that calls for a response that you are incapable of. If you want to go fast in the twisties,use a bike made for it.

Last edited by GTK; 05-14-2015 at 04:06 PM.
Old 05-14-2015, 04:07 PM
SBates08
Extreme HDF Member
Received 1,235 Likes on 999 Posts

First off I think this guy was riding above his ability. Secondly, when you watch the slo mo part of the video you'll see that his foot getting drug off the board is what causes him to go down. When riding twisties you feet should be firmly planted inline with the boards. Not hanging off the side like his was. That's just my perspective.