Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Exhaust advice please...

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2018, 08:43 AM
rponycar
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Exhaust advice please...

Hi Folks, Total newb here. Got my first Harley Davidson about a month ago. Stock 2010 Ultra Limited.
My first question: How can I best get away from the quiet stock pipes, (get loud), without requiring something like a power commander, or causing an unwanted byproduct like power loss or lean condition, running hotter?
Many thanks
r

Old 07-12-2018, 08:57 AM
cprhed
Stellar HDF Member
Received 1,069 Likes on 617 Posts

Some will tell you that these bikes already run lean from the factory due to EPA regs and that if you change anything you should get something to add fuel back. Some will tell you that if you only change exhaust you are ok.

My feeling is that unless you went with straight pipes you are probably ok.

If you put on a louder slip on you probably don't need to worry about it if you leave the rest alone. Will you lose some power? yeah maybe a little but you may not notice. The more open (louder) your exhaust choice is the more back pressure you are losing and the more power you will lose. But it does not seem that you are interested in tuning and building the bike for power.
These things are like any other hobby and toy. Once you start you won't stop. So you are going to do the exhaust, then change your mind and want to do the intake which then requires a tuner of some sort to match the fuel to the new airflow. I would just do it all at once and be done but you could totally run a season with just different slip ons and shouldn't have to worry about damage.

The following users liked this post:
rponycar (07-14-2018)
Old 07-12-2018, 02:52 PM
PiedPiper
Road Captain
Received 70 Likes on 49 Posts