Go Back  Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Touring Models
Reload this Page >

2015 RG 12" handlebar question

Notices
Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2015 RG 12" handlebar question

 
  #1  
Old 12-22-2018, 01:35 PM
radudel's Avatar
radudel
radudel is offline
One Of The Regulars
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Romania, Otopeni
Posts: 142
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default 2015 RG 12" handlebar question

Hi!
I looked for an answer before asking but I couldn't find one for my question:
I just bought a 2015 RG and it has the stock handlebar. I would like to change them with a 12" bars. Do I need to change the wiring/cables too or it is not necessary?
Thanks!
This is my new bike






And the handlebars would be something like this:


 
  #2  
Old 12-22-2018, 03:34 PM
Kermie's Avatar
Kermie
Kermie is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 1,651
Thanked 231 Times in 220 Posts
Default

No you shouldn't have to. I have 12" Monkey Bars and they went on just right. You will need to clip some zip ties, but all should be good.

I love that color on yours.
 
The Following User Says Thank You to Kermie For This Useful Post:
radudel (01-13-2019)
  #3  
Old 12-22-2018, 03:40 PM
Mofo67
Mofo67 is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Efland NC
Posts: 711
Thanked 93 Times in 87 Posts
Default

Wow, that’s a great looking bike.
My Factory 47 12” bars are scheduled to arrive on Wednesday and I’ll be installing them. From everything I’ve read and videos I’ve watched they should fit without changing wires or cables. As mentioned just cut a few zip ties,
Good Luck..
 
The Following User Says Thank You to Mofo67 For This Useful Post:
radudel (01-13-2019)
  #4  
Old 12-22-2018, 06:00 PM
nobodyknowsme's Avatar
nobodyknowsme
nobodyknowsme is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: in a cave
Posts: 6,779
Thanked 1,514 Times in 1,165 Posts
Default

I have to agree that is a great looking bike!!!
 
The Following User Says Thank You to nobodyknowsme For This Useful Post:
radudel (01-13-2019)
  #5  
Old 01-10-2019, 04:09 AM
radudel's Avatar
radudel
radudel is offline
One Of The Regulars
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Romania, Otopeni
Posts: 142
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thanks for advice.
I consider also to push the bars an inch or two towards to see if there is a need for taller one's.
BTW: where can I buy online the rear speakers and housing for the tour-pack? Thanks!
 
  #6  
Old 01-10-2019, 05:22 AM
Mofo67
Mofo67 is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Efland NC
Posts: 711
Thanked 93 Times in 87 Posts
Default

I just installed Factory 47 12” Riviera bars on mine with no extensions needed. As mentioned you will need to clip a few zip ties to allow the clutch cable to work. Go to YouTube and watch Fatory 47 Road Glide handlebar install. It took me a little under 3 hours. FYI, disconnect the battery or remove the 50 amp fuse before starting the install.
 
The Following User Says Thank You to Mofo67 For This Useful Post:
radudel (01-13-2019)
  #7  
Old 01-10-2019, 10:54 AM
Cygnusx51's Avatar
Cygnusx51
Cygnusx51 is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Olean, NY
Posts: 5,020
Thanked 1,238 Times in 835 Posts
Default

I rolled the stock bars forward but they still sucked. Went with 12 F47s that mounted right up with no issue.



 
The Following User Says Thank You to Cygnusx51 For This Useful Post:
radudel (01-13-2019)
  #8  
Old 01-11-2019, 04:13 PM
2010AAA86
2010AAA86 is offline
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: earth
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Very nice bikes and info. I've got stock bars on my 2015 RG and have been thinking of doing the 12 inchers, you guys answered my questions, thanks!!
 
The Following User Says Thank You to 2010AAA86 For This Useful Post:
radudel (01-13-2019)
  #9  
Old 01-12-2019, 09:31 AM
gsallen1168!
gsallen1168! is offline
New Member
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I have a 15 Roadglide as well and I put 14 bars on mine and all I had to do was cut some zip ties. Great looking bike by the way! Ride safe!
 

Last edited by gsallen1168!; 01-12-2019 at 09:33 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to gsallen1168! For This Useful Post:
radudel (01-13-2019)
  #10  
Old 01-12-2019, 05:35 PM
RFG's Avatar
RFG
RFG is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Up on the Lake. Ohio.
Posts: 2,387
Thanked 219 Times in 183 Posts
Default

I have 12s on my 16 RGS. No extensions are required

 
The Following User Says Thank You to RFG For This Useful Post:
radudel (01-13-2019)

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: