Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Wheel weight with Ride-On

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2019, 06:32 AM
jb1023
Road Captain
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Wheel weight with Ride-On

I just had some new Avon Cobra's mounted and I gave the shop 2 bottles of Ride-On to use. Guy at the counter took them and said no problem. Went back the next day to pick up the wheels and there are wheel weights stuck on. I asked the guy at the counter, different guy, and he went back to talk to the installer. According to the installer the slip said to use both forms of balance. He said it was actually a good idea though because the Ride-On will balance out the tire but not the wheel. I've never used Ride-On before but in my research I have never come across this scenario. Is this a valid line of reasoning? I would think with the Ride-On being dynamic that it will now be over balanced at the point of the weights. I will be test riding today but thought I would ask. I've ridden a bike with an out of balance wheel before and it was not pleasant as it went from feeling normal at 60-65 to almost out of control, not a tank slapper but a massive shutter, at 70-75.

Old 05-03-2019, 06:47 AM
GalvTexGuy
Seasoned HDF Member

Received 3,950 Likes on 2,169 Posts

This is what Ride-On says about the product:

This protective tire sealant coating is formulated to prevent flats caused by punctures, hydrodynamically balance tire/wheel assemblies (with or without wheel weights) for the life of a tire...

Unsightly wheel weights are no longer necessary.

Last edited by GalvTexGuy; 05-03-2019 at 06:49 AM.
Old 05-03-2019, 06:49 AM
SWThomas
Stellar HDF Member
Received 995 Likes on 591 Posts

If you have the right amount of Ride-On in your tires, you can just take those weights off and ride.

Old 05-03-2019, 07:00 AM
Spartanden
Club Member