Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Riders Edge Skilled Rider course

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2012, 09:41 PM
brgtr3
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Riders Edge Skilled Rider course

OK, I'm thinking of taking the Riders Edge skilled rider course which would mean having to use my big ol' Ultra for the training. But, the thought of having to take those darn figure 8's and tight turns at slow speed are freaking me out and I'm wondering whether it's worth it or not. I'd be so pi$$ed off if I dropped my baby during some of the potential maneuvers.

I'm not a newbie, been riding 15K per year for the last 6 years with no problems or spills. But, that little voice in the back of my head keeps saying: "you're going to drop it, fool"!

So, my question for those who have taken the course with a touring bike, what am I up against? Is it an impossible task, or do cooler heads prevail and it works out? I'd be interested in your experiences with the course, and observations of other riders who were in your classes.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by brgtr3; 03-08-2012 at 10:04 PM.
Old 03-08-2012, 10:23 PM
fxdxruss
Road Captain
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Hello

Was not hard, would be easier on small bike but, thats not what I ride. If you keep focusing on telling yourself your gunna drop it, you will. Rent their bike so you can spend more time on the lessons, you can then practice what you learned on your bike when you ride the streets.

Russ

Old 03-08-2012, 10:27 PM
zion
Tourer
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Don't psych yourself out. It's easier than you think. Law Enforcement does much tighter courses than offered in a civilian course and you could probably do half of the entry level LE courses and not realize it.