Oil pressure on boom box - Harley Davidson Forums

Tri Glide & Freewheeler Models Tri Glide Enthusiasts. Here is your section of the forum to discuss Harley's Tri Glide Trike. Have at it!

Oil pressure on boom box

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 01-12-2018, 11:21 AM
Grumpy1957
Grumpy1957 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Texas
Posts: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Oil pressure on boom box

Can I get what the actual oil pressure is to show on the boom box instead of just having the word "OK" showing?

Or is it not available on TriGlides? I thought I saw it on another boom box but couldn't tell if it was on a trike.

Thanks,
Grumpy1957
2107 TriGlide
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-12-2018, 01:26 PM
bzb123's Avatar
bzb123
bzb123 is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Canada, baby!
Posts: 688
Thanked 23 Times in 19 Posts
Default

I believe they took that option out on all the M8 bikes in 2017


My 14 SGS had it, but the 17 does not.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2018, 03:05 PM
rhino 2
rhino 2 is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: NJ.
Posts: 333
Thanked 89 Times in 64 Posts
Default

I'm an easy guy to please , If it says OK , Then its OK with me....
Besides i don't need or want another number to look at or worry about if it might read a little different one day to another...Like the highly inaccurate volt gauge...
 

Last edited by rhino 2; 01-12-2018 at 03:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-12-2018, 04:42 PM
Grumpy1957
Grumpy1957 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Texas
Posts: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I agree with you rhino 2, I was just wondering if it was a setting I didn't do correctly.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-14-2018, 07:06 AM
bronxbill's Avatar
bronxbill
bronxbill is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 1,189
Thanked 96 Times in 77 Posts
Default

They switched from the actual number to ok in 2017. My 2016 trike shows the number, my friend's 2017 just shows ok
 
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bronxbill For This Useful Post:
Grumpy1957 (01-14-2018)
  #6  
Old 01-14-2018, 09:32 AM
PDB17UltraRG's Avatar
PDB17UltraRG
PDB17UltraRG is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Stuart, Fl
Posts: 3,614
Thanked 400 Times in 388 Posts
Default

Then Harley Davison wonders why there not selling more Bikes for what we pay little extras would be nice.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-14-2018, 02:43 PM
rhino 2
rhino 2 is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: NJ.
Posts: 333
Thanked 89 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by PDB17UltraRG View Post
Then Harley Davison wonders why there not selling more Bikes for what we pay little extras would be nice.
A little extra here and a little extra there , And before you know it the bike gets too expensive....And nobody buy's them... The reality is if a part cost the manufacture one dollar.... To make a profit they have to sell it for three dollars..
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-15-2018, 02:47 PM
Geary Thomas's Avatar
Geary Thomas
Geary Thomas is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Henderson NV
Posts: 206
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

shows how the economy changes.. the old rule was
2% profit = If it cost $1, sell it for $2
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-15-2018, 03:41 PM
gerald martin
gerald martin is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: vernon bc canada
Posts: 148
Thanked 25 Times in 23 Posts
Default boom box pressure

If it cost $1.00 to buy and you sold it for $2.00 that would be 100 percent profit not 2 percent. 2 percent profit would mean you sold it for $1.02
 

Last edited by gerald martin; 01-15-2018 at 03:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-15-2018, 03:57 PM
cbrenthus
cbrenthus is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Posts: 1,723
Thanked 172 Times in 81 Posts
Default

It's been discussed and it's believed that the new pressure sensor is just an open/closed sensor and cannot give actual numbers, therefore getting an actual pressure reading would require changing the sensor.
 
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cbrenthus For This Useful Post:
Grumpy1957 (01-15-2018)

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Oil pressure on boom box


Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: