Tri Glide, RG3 & Freewheeler Models Freewheeler, RG3 & Tri Glide Enthusiasts. Here is your section of the forum to discuss Harley's Trikes!

Probable Freewheeler purchase

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2018, 08:57 AM
cobalt07
Road Master
Received 243 Likes on 152 Posts
Default Probable Freewheeler purchase

I'm an old busted up carpenter in sunny NE Ohio. Had a hip replacement 2 months ago and am having a shoulder replacement in March. I can not imagine not riding this summer, Doc said 6 month recovery for arm. I'm thinking, Freewheeler with a Rekluse auto clutch can put me back on the road by mid May or June as I won't use my left arm for the clutch. I live in the country and could get away without much turn signal use. I have been on Harleys since early '70s but never on a trike. Can I get away with 1 arm operation or are they too hard to manuever with one arm ? Also trunk lid is quite substantial, think I can mount an aftermarket trunk to it ? Thanks for any input

Old 02-09-2018, 09:15 AM
sailmotion
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 7,838 Likes on 3,236 Posts

It takes a surprisingly lot of effort to turn a trike - and the faster one goes, the harder the effort. I suppose the Freewheeler being a bit light than the Triglide I rented would be a little easier to turn; but again, I was surprised. If you've ever ridden an ATV, think that effort x 1/2.

The following users liked this post:
cobalt07 (02-09-2018)
Old 02-09-2018, 10:14 AM
bronxbill
Road Warrior

Received 453 Likes on 280 Posts

You may want to try a Freewheeler before your surgery; a trike does require shoulder movement to steer

cobalt07 (02-09-2018)
Old 02-09-2018, 10:19 AM
cobalt07
Road Master

The weather her probably won't allow for a ride by March unless the jet stream changes. I was thinking that would be the response, a lot of effort to steer.

Old 02-09-2018, 10:23 AM
sailmotion
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 7,838 Likes on 3,236 Posts